You need to be registered or certified to do construction work in Florida. You can get a “registered” contractor’s license at the local level; unless a certified license is required by the county you want to perform the work in. Contractors with a “certified” license are allowed to work anywhere in the state.
Renewing Florida Contractor License: Continuing Education Requirements
Each certified contractor and registered contractor will have a requirement to finish 14 hours of continuing education with every renewal cycle. With those 14 hours, one of those hours will need to be done with each of the following:
- Worker’ Compensation
- Workplace Safety
- Business Practices
- Advanced or Specialized Module, which is approved by Florida Building Commission
- Wind Mitigation Methodologies, if the license is of the following categories: Building, General, Glazing & Glass, Specialty Structure, Roofing, or Residential.
- Rules and Laws that regulate the construction industry
Any hours that are left over may involve any above topics, or even general topics regarding the industry.
Florida Contractor License: When is the Renewal?
Certified Florida contractors: will need to renew their licenses no later than August 31st. This will be on each year that is even-numbered.
Registered Florida contractor: will need to renew their licenses no later than August 31st. This will be on each year that is odd-numbered.
Registered License and Certified License in Florida: What is the Difference?
Each certified license that is statewide and will give you the ability to work as a contractor in the state of Florida. Each registered license can be limited when it comes to specific local jurisdictions, as well as allowing you the ability to work in the counties or cities where a certificate of competency is held.
Renewing Florida License: Is There a Fee?
Yes, there is a fee. The following is the schedule:
- Active and Current Qualifying Business: $259.00
- Active and Current Individuals: $209.00
- Inactive and Current: $59.00
- Inactive and Delinquent: $218.00
- Active and Delinquent Qualifying Business: $359.00
- Active and Delinquent Individual: $309.00
Switching Florida License to Inactive Status: Is There a Requirement to Maintain Continuing Education?
No, there is not a requirement for this. Although, during the reactivation of your license, you will be obligated to show proof that you completed 14 hours of continuing education for the renewal cycle, which will immediately precede the reactivation of the license. With the 14 hours, you need to show that you have followed all of the requirements for the specific license type that you are seeking.
Florida Continuing Education: Can it be Done Online?
Yes, it can be done online. There are specific providers who have approval to teach some of the online classes. You may view the following link to see the approved providers.http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/Exam.Info.html. Providers who have “C/I” or “I” are approved to offer courses online.
How can I check on the number of hours of continuing education I have completed?
Completed Continuing Education Hours: How to Check
To view how many hours you have completed, go to https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ActivateAccountInstruct.asp?Page=CErequirements.asp&SID=
Questions Regarding Continuing Education: Who to Contact
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
General Florida Licensing Requirements FAQS
For construction within the state of Florida, each contractor needs to hold a registered license or a certified license. Certified licensed are available throughout the state. They also give the ability to work as a contractor within the state of Florida. Each registered license holder will be limited to specific local jurisdictions, and you will only be able to work in counties or cities where the competency of the certificate is held.
A contractor is defined as someone who subtracts, improves, builds, or demolishes a structure or building for compensation. Each contractor license is separated into two divisions.
First Division – This division is for structural licenses, which includes residential, building, and general contractors.)
Second Division – This division is for non-structural licenses, which includes pool/spa, roofing, plumbing, etc.
How to Obtain a Florida Contractor License
There are 20 different construction type of licenses issued by The Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Those who seek this type of licensure in the State of Florida are to:
- Complete and pass each required exam.
- Hold 4+ years of experience. You can even have a combination of experience and college (view the application instruction page to obtain more information.)
- Show proof of having financial stability, as well as responsibility. You must do this by submitting a personal credit report. This must show your FICO credit score
- Obtain fingerprints and go through a background check.
- Prove that they have received property damage insurance, public liability, as well as workers compensation insurance.
- The required fee must be paid and provided with the application. The fee can be payable to The Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
- Finish the printable application. This can be done by viewing the following link for the license you wish to seek: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/
Send each finished application, required fees, any necessary documentation to the following:
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Construction Applications: What are the Fees?
- Initial Licensure for Certified Contractor – If you passed any part of your examination after
- Financial Responsible Officer: $200
- Certified Contractor Exam: $135
- Limited Non-Renewable Registration: $309
- Initial License for Registered Contractors: $309 when applying for the initial license between the dates of May 1st during an odd number of a year. August 31st will be for an even year. The fee will be prorated to $209 when applying for the initial license between the dates of September 1st during an even year and an odd year on April 30th. If an individual qualifies for a business, it’s required to pay an added Business Registration fee, which is $50.
- An initial license for a certified contractor: If this is completed and passed after January 1st, 2009, a $249 fee will apply if the application for the initial license is between May 1st during an even year and August 31st of an off year. The fee will be prorated to $149 if applying for the initial license between the dates of September 1st during an odd year and April 30th during an even year. If applying to qualify regarding a business, you will be required to pay an added $50 for a Business Registration fee.
- Certified Contractor Initial License: If all parts of an exam are passed before January 1st, 2009, there will be a $409 fee when applying for the initial license between the dates of May 1st during an een year and August 31st during an odd year. The fee will be prorated to $309 when applying for the initial license between the dates of September 1st during an odd year and April 30th during an even year. If applying to qualify regarding a business, there will be a $50 additional Business Registration fee.
Experience, Exam, and Education Requirements: Are There Any for the State of Florida Contractor License?
Yes, each license requires an exam. All of division 1 licenses will require three exams, which include Project Management, Contract Administration, as well as Business and Finance. Division 2 will require two exams to be taken, which include Trade Knowledge and Business& Finance. View the following Construction Industry Licensing Board website for further exam information regarding all 20 construction license: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/Exam.Info.html
All of the information regarding each exam will be found under “Exam content information”. You can also view “Reference list” for any documents on trades. Knowledge of basic math will be a requirement for each exam. You can apply to Professional Testing INC. by visiting www.floridaexam.com or by phone at (407) 264-0562. The contracted vendor for the business and finance exam is Pearson Vue. This vendow will score, report, administer, and schedule the tests. Each individual must pass each exam they are seeking to obtain a license.
Each application must have four years of experience, or even a combination of college and experience. To view a list of education/experience requirements, you can reference the application instruction page.
Grandfathering Registered Contractor License: What is It?
Grandfathering gives the ability to current registered contractors to be able to apply and receive a state certified license within the category of a license, without the need to sit for the state contractor exam, if the contractor meets the specific criteria for Section 489.118 of Florida Statutes.
To be able to take advantage of grandfathering of a registered contractor license, one is required to:
- You must have a current registered license within the state for one of the categories listed in Section 489.15 (3) (a)-(p), Florida Statutes.
- You must have already passed the written exam in which the board considered similar to the exam that is required in order to receive licensure for certified contractors. Due to purpose of this subsection, a proctored and written exam that came from Assessmet Systems, Inc., Professional Testing, Inc., Experior Assessments, NAI/Block, Block and Associates, or National Assessment Institute will need to be considered to be required for the license as a certified contractor.
- You will need 5+years of holding an active registered experience within the state as a contractor within the needed category, or even as a building administrator or inspector, having oversight of that category during the time of the application.
- You must not have ever had your contractor license revoked during any time, must not hae had it suspended within the past five years, and must not have been given a fine of $500+ during the past five years.
- You must be in compliance with the financial and insurance responsibility requirements found within section 489.11595), Florida Statutes.
Each application for grandfathering needs to be postmarked with no later date of November 1st of 2015 for consideration. The fee for the application is $309.
NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor License: Is it Accepted Within the State of Florida?
No, it’s not accepted in Florida.
General Contractor Commercial Contractor Licensure: Does the State of Florida Require It?
Yes, they do.
Holding a License in Another State: Does the State of Florida Have Reciprocity Regarding Other States?
No, the state of Florida does not. If you hold a trade license that came from a different state and you can show proof that you obtained your license by completing and passing examination, as well as meeting the requirements for experience that are the same as the requirements for the Florida Board, you may be able to receive qualification for the Trade Exam.
BULLETINS: ALL CITY/COUNTY EXAMS
Please contact the city or county in which you wish to work to find out which exam you must take, and to obtain approval to take it.
Each exam content outline lists the references that were used to develop the exam in accordance with the requirements of local jurisdictions. With the exception of the Code books, you can use newer editions of references as they become available at your own discretion. Note, newer editions may or may not contain applicable information to the content on the exam. You assume the risk of using a more current reference than that listed in the outline. In regards to Code books, only the edition of the Code book listed in the exam content outline will be allowed into the test site.
PUBLICATIONS FOR CITY/COUNTY CONSTRUCTION CANDIDATES
References, manuals or study guides for the Prometric Florida construction exams may be obtained from the following organizations, as well as from other construction book sellers (presented in alphabetical order):
- AAA Construction School(Choose County Exam Books)
- Builders Book Depot
- Building Trades Education Service
- Construction Book Express
- Florida Contractor’s School
- Koning Contractors Library
- Tom Henry’s Code Electric
Question: How do I register my construction company in Florida?
Register your Florida Business With:
Florida Department of State
Clifton Building – 2661 Executive Center Circle
Tallahassee, FL 32301
What forms do I need to register my new company in Florida?
Register your Business in Florida
Question: How do I look up a company in Florida or see if a company name is available to register?
Answer: Use this link to see if your company name is available in Florida Entity Search
Where can I get the books?
AMAZON – Click on the book to order:
2010 Florida Building Code – Energy
2010 Florida Building Code – Accessibility
2010 Florida Building Code — Building
2010 Florida Building Code — Existing Building
2010 Florida Building Code — Residential
Builder’s Guide to Accounting
Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures
Energy Efficient Building Construction in Florida
Florida Contractors Manual – 2013
Guide to Handling, Installing, Bracing Wood Trusses
OSHA Construction Regulations, 1926
Placing Reinforcing Bars
Principles and Practices of Commercial Construction