Rhode Island

A general contracting license will not be a requirement by Rhode Island State. Although, any individual who is involved with the business of repair, remodeling, alterations, home construction, or commercial construction will be required to have a valid and current certificate for registration. It is best to check with your local county and city for their regulations and requirements.

If you build, repair, or remodel one- to four-family dwellings in Rhode Island, you must register with the Contractors’ Registration Board. Some specialty trades must be licensed in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island Licensing Requirements

There will be no license that is required by the state for general contractors. Although, the state of Rhode Island does require an individual who has a business of repair, alterations, home construction, or commercial construction to residents, with a total of materials and labor of $500 to have a valid and current certificate of registration. The certificate with be sent out by the Contractor Registration and Licensing Board. A state, town, or city will not give out a building permit to any individual who is required to have registration, who doesn’t already have a valid and current registration. Check with your county and city for further regulations and requirements.

Electricians, plumbers, and asbestos abatement contractors, as well as other specialty trades will need to have a license through an agency in Rhode Island. The individual will not have to obtain a contractor registration, unless they wish to work outside of their license.

How to Get Registered as a Rhode Island contractor

An individual who is wanting to register to be a contractor will need to send in an application and it must include the following:

  • A $200 fee for registration
  • Valid certificate of insurance regarding the specific type of work being done.
  • The individual’s business address and name, as well as residential address.
  • Federal employer identification number
  • State withholding tax account number
  • Unemployment insurance account number
  • Workers’ compensation insurance proof and account number

The application should be 18 years old or older. To receive an application:

Contractor’s Registration and Licensing Board
Department of Administration
http://www.crb.ri.gov/contractorregistration/index.php

For information regarding asbestos abatement, it is best to contact the Department of health at the following website:http://www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs/

Experience, Exam, or Education Requirements: Are There Any For Rhode Island Registration?

No, there are no requirements to register to be a contractor. Although, the asbestos abatement contractors, plumbers, and electricians as well as certain specialty trades will need exams and education.

Continued Education: Does Rhode Island Require It?

No, there won’t be requirements for registration. The individuals will need to renew their registration each two year periods.

NASCLA Commercial Contractor License: Does Rhode Island Accept This Accredited License?

No

General Contractor, Commercial Contractor License: Is This a Requirement for Rhode Island?

No, this is not a requirement. However, the registration law will apply to each remodeler and contractor. If the contractor builds any commercial structures or develops land, they will need to be registered.

Does Rhode Island Have Reciprocity With Any Other States?

Each out-of-state contractor who wishes to work, remodel, or build while being a subcontractor in the State of Rhode Island will need to register.

Penalties For No Registration for Business as a Rhode Island Contractor

Subcontractors, remodelers, and contractors who don’t have a registration that is valid won’t have the privilege to work, obtain, or bid a building permit as well as be able to file a law suit or file a lien for compensation for any work done. There will be up to a $5000 fine for a first offense and then up to $10,000 for a second offense, which may be imposed for being non-compliance. Having three or more than three offenses during a period of 24 months will result with felony charges.

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
Division of Professional Regulation

Question: How do I register my construction company in Rhode Island? 

 Register your Rhode Island Business With:

Rhode Island Secretary of State
148 W. River Street
Providence, RI 02904-2615

Website

(401) 222-3040

 

What forms do I need to register my new company in Rhode Island?

Register your Business in Rhode Island                  

Forms   Tax Forms  

 

Question: How do I look up a company in Rhode Island or see if a company name is available to register?  

Answer: Use this link to see if your company name is available in Rhode Island Entity Search  

 

Where can I get the books?

AMAZON – Click on the book to order:

The Blue Book Building & Construction 2014 (Eastern Massachusetts Rhode Island S. New Hampshire)

The Blue Book Building & Condtruction 2014 (Eastern Massachusetts Rhode Island S. New Hampshire)